Fall Webinars

We will be releasing the Fall 2019 Webinar Series for Advisors soon!

If you’re interested in presenting a workshop to fellow advisors, please contact Eileen at eileen@nationalald.org.

Upcoming Chapter Deadlines

Deadline Action Item
December 1 Flame Chapter Spotlight
February 1 Graduate Fellowship Applications
March 1 Stemler Study Abroad Applications
April 1 Trow Undergraduate Applications
May 10 Chapter Annual Report (all chapters)
May 10 Order of the Torch/Maintaining the Flame

2019 Outstanding Advisor of the Year: Dr. Susan Melson Huffman

The National Council of Alpha Lambda Delta selected Dr. Susan Melson Huffman, Associate Director of Administration and Assignments for University Residences at Purdue University, to be the recipient of the Outstanding Advisor of the Year Award for 2019. The Purdue University chapter was the second chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta and has been active since 1926.

Dr. Huffman was inducted as a member of Alpha Lambda Delta during her freshman year at Purdue in 1975 and has advised the Purdue chapter for 33 years. She served on Alpha Lambda Delta’s National Council for 21 years, culminating with her nine-year term as president from 2009-2018. She retired from the National Council in June 2018 but has remained as the advisor of the Alpha Lambda Delta chapter at Purdue. She has attended and presented at ALD National Leadership Conferences consistently for over twenty years.

Dr. Huffman received the Alpha Lambda Delta Executive Director’s Advisors of the Year recognition in 2013 and 2006. Under her leadership, the chapter won the prestigious Order of the Torch award in 2016, 2012, 2008, 2004, and 2000, and won the Maintaining the Flame award in 2018, 2017, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009, and 2005. Purdue also earned a Delta Bronze chapter membership award in 2017. During Dr. Huffman’s tenure, Purdue University students have consistently won national scholarships and fellowships every year since 2004.

Huffman 2019 Headshot.jpeg

2019 Executive Director’s Advisor Awards

This year, Executive Director Eileen Merberg is proud to announce the Alpha Lambda Delta Executive Director’s Advisor Awards: 

Badgerow,Justin - Etown.jpg

Dr. Justin Badgerow
Elizabethtown College


Larry Cloud
University of Arkansas

Eichelberger,Dori - CalU.jpg

Dori Eichelberger
California University of Pennsylvania

EDAA - Funk2019.jpg

Rick Funk
University of Alabama

Photo Coming Soon.jpg

Dr. Ja’Wanda Grant
Xavier University
of Louisiana

Yates,Laura - UTAustin.jpg

Laura Yates
University of Texas
at Austin