During the June 2019 National Council meeting, the board voted to reallocate money from the Graduate Fellowship Fund to fund 13 additional Trow Undergraduate Scholarships. This shift now allows 50 Trow Undergraduate Scholarships to be awarded, totaling $105,000. This increase of $16,000 provides more assistance to our undergraduate students.

History of the Award


The Jo Anne J. Trow Award was started in 1988 to honor a past National President of Alpha Lambda Delta. Former Vice President for Student Services at Oregon State University, Jo Anne J. Trow served Alpha Lambda Delta as District VIII Advisor from 1974 to 1979, Secretary from 1979 to 1983, President-elect from 1984-1985, and National President from 1985 to 1988. During her term as president, the National Council was restructured to provide a more streamlined operation. Originally, this scholarship was established to give collegiate chapters of the society an annual opportunity to reward an outstanding sophomore member of Alpha Lambda Delta with a stipend of $150. Now the scholarships range from $1,000 to $6,000.

Dr. Kathy Beardsley Named Scholarship

At their meeting in 2014, the National Council of Alpha Lambda Delta voted to offer an additional $1,000 award as part of the Trow Scholarship program in honor of long-time University of Maryland advisor and former Council member Kathy Beardsley. Dr. Kathy Beardsley served as advisor for the Maryland ALD chapter from 1989 to 2013. Her work with ALD students brought her tremendous joy and was a favorite part of her job. Dr. Beardsley inducted over 12,500 students into ALD during her tenure, was named Outstanding Advisor of the Year in 1991, and served on the ALD National council from 2002 to 2006. She retired from the University of Maryland and Alpha Lambda Delta in 2013.

The 2019 Recipient is Natalie Leinbach from the University of Maryland.

Dr. Susan Melson Huffman Named Scholarship

In June 2018, the National Council announced the creation of a new Jo Anne J. Trow scholarship, named in honor of Dr. Susan Melson Huffman in the amount of $3,000. Funding of the scholarship was acquired from donations from Dr. Huffman’s colleagues, students, and friends. Dr. Susan Melson Huffman is the Associate Director of Administration and Assignments for the University Residences at Purdue University. Dr. Huffman was inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta as a freshman at Purdue University in 1975. She has served as the chapter advisor at Purdue since 1984. Dr. Huffman served on the National Council in various capacities including: Member at-Large (1994-97 and 2001-02), Vice President for Chapter Relations and Expansion (2002-08), President-Elect (2008-09), and President (2009- 18). During her time as President she installed several new chapters, represented ALD at the Association of College Honor Societies’ annual meetings, and presented several outstanding chapters with their Order of the Torch award.

The 2019 Recipient is Sarah Harris from IUPUI.

Beardsley,Kathy - UMD retired.jpg
Huffman 2019 Headshot.jpeg