The National Council offers 36 Jo Anne J. Trow Undergraduate Scholarships annually, ranging from $1,000 to $6,000 each. Applications for this undergraduate scholarship are available to chapters via the national website. Local chapters will hold a competition to determine one or more finalists to go on to the national competition. The number of chapter finalists varies:

  • One applicant for any chapter,
  • Two applicants for chapters initiating 150-299 members,
  • Three applicants for chapters initiating over 300 members.

Only students initiated into Alpha Lambda Delta between January 1 and December 31, 2016 are eligible to apply. 

How to Apply

Click here to download the 2017 application. 

The chapter finalists must be submitted to the National Office by April 3.  Scholarship recipients will be selected in late June and announced in July.

National competition will be weighed based on the following point values:

Undergraduate coursework and GPA 10 points
Employment information 5 points
Contributions to your ALD chapter 20 points
Significant campus activities 10 points
Honors/recognitions received 5 points
Career goals 5 points
Value of ALD to your undergraduate education essay 25 points
Recommendation letters 20 points
Total Points 100

Scholarship FAQs

Q: My chapter is not very active, but I want to apply for a Trow scholarship. Does my application need to go through the advisor, or can I just send it directly to the National Office?
A: Trow applications need chapter advisor approval.  Please contact the National Office directly if you are having an issue contacting the advisor.

Q:  Can official transcripts be delivered via email directly from the university?
A: Yes, as long as it is through a secure link or an email directly from the Registrar.

Q:  If a student brings AP high school credits, summer credits, or college credits taken in high school that have transferred as equivalent to one year of college (so they are technically a sophomore), are they eligible to apply for the Trow Scholarship before entering their second year?
A: First-year students who were recently initiated are NOT eligible for Trow, no matter how many credits they bring prior to college. They need to be in their second year at the college (and apply for a Trow to be awarded in their third year).  This allows for students to get involved and contribute to their chapter in their second year.

Q: Do I need to provide an official transcript of the college credits earned in high school?
A: No.

Q: Does the scholarship apply towards tuition only or can it also be applied towards room/board, books, fees, etc.?
A: The funds are to defray college expenses.  At the point that the student has fully paid tuition and fees for the term, the monies will be given to the student to defray other college expenses. Note that all Trow checks are sent to the institution, so any remaining funds after tuition and fees are sent from the school, not Alpha Lambda Delta.


2016 Scholarship Recipients 

Recipient Institution
Ashton Alarcon University of Texas at San Antonio
Ahmad Awada Oakland University
Andrew Conboy Chestnut Hill College
Emma Crane The Ohio State University
Christina DeJoseph McDaniel College
Mikayla Dennison Georgetown College
Kiana Duncan Kent State University
Nadine Elhanafi Long Island University - Brooklyn
Madison Flaget University of Montana
Madison Gaither The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Joseph Gearon Transylvania University
Kaitlyn Gebhardt Central Methodist University
Rachel Goetz South Dakota State University
Madison Harpenau Morningside College
Merit Jennings The University of Oklahoma
YuJin Kim University of Massachusetts - Boston
Christine Loeb Carthage College
Kylee Loebick University of Cincinnati
Ashlica Malcolm University of Bridgeport
Katelyn Market Purdue University
Marianna Markley Converse College
Anastacia Maurer Oakland University
Stephanie McCann Valley City State University
Katelyn Miller Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis
Amie Musselman Ohio University
Cody Niese University of Cincinnati
Rachel Nye Washington and Jefferson College
Breanna Oakes Ohio University
Edward O'Neil Purdue University
Danielle O'Reilly Dominican University of California
Dana Outcalt The Ohio State University
Jillian Paffenbarger Dickinson College
Madelina Pratt University of Southern California
Zoe Rodriguez Carthage College
Victoria Sefcsik Indiana University - Purdue Univeristy Indianapolis
Kristen Shipley North Carolina A&T State University
Megan Smith Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis
Ashley Straut Purdue University
Michael Thompson University of Georgia

The Jo Anne J. Trow Award was started in 1988 to honor a past National President of Alpha Lambda Delta. Former Vice President for Student Services at Oregon State University, Jo Anne J. Trow served Alpha Lambda Delta as District VIII Advisor from 1974 to 1979, Secretary from 1979 to 1983, President-elect from 1984-1985, and National President from 1985 to 1988. During her term as president, the National Council was restructured to provide a more streamlined operation. Originally, this scholarship was established to give collegiate chapters of the society an annual opportunity to reward an outstanding sophomore member of Alpha Lambda Delta with a stipend of $150. Now the scholarships range from $1,000 to $6,000.